Unified Smart Package Mgmt.

For people who handle a lot of workstations and servers

Jeremy Cheng
4 min readJan 5, 2024

So I personally have a considerable amount of machines. My team and I also deal with a lot of machines at work. When I get a new machine or want to repurpose an existing machine, I prefer to do fresh installs rather than imaging hard drives because among other reasons, imaging carries all the junk/cache over beyond just configs/preferences and it’s not only a pain to maintain but also undesirable to keep a big number of images around on storage. Plus, I mean, there’s something to be said about a clean install if you know what I mean.

Sure you can carry over just the home directory minus your .cache directory which mostly takes care of the junk and cache but how will you get all the same software installed that your home directory references? And yes, you can see what you manually installed with your package manager on your older computer running Debian based distros if you just do a little googling and then ninja your way through the output to derive long lines of packages for installing manually on the new machine but God forbid you are on a rpm based system… I am not even aware of a way to see what was manually installed. I guess back to googling? What about Macs and Windows which I often use Homebrew and Scoop on?

--

--