Ubuntu 18.04 + Lenovo X1 Carbon (6G)

Jeremy Cheng
9 min readJun 26, 2018

Disclaimer: I’m not responsible for any damages or injury, including but not limited to special or consequential damages, that result from your use of this set of instructions.

Everything in General Just Worked Out-of-the-Box

In my previous open letter to Apple, I mentioned that the Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Carbon running Ubuntu was a wonderful candidate for a Macbook replacement. So while I am waiting for the late summer hardware event, I decided to do some hands on exploration to prove my theory with some solid day-to-day usage testing on a 6th gen X1 Carbon myself.

The installation went off without a hitch and everything except for the fingerprint reader just worked right out of the box. To my surprise, even the touch screen worked. The only thing that I didn’t check was the SD/Sim slot which I read somewhere that it also doesn’t work out-of-the-box. No big deal for me though as I don’t like using fingerprint readers and have no need for sim/nano SD support. I then connected the HDMI port to my external display and that worked wonderfully as well.

Battery Life

Battery life was left little to be desired out-of-box as expected but nothing that can’t be tuned to an acceptable level of performance by doing the following:

--

--