The MakerBot Method

An industrial grade 3D Printer with an affordable price tag

Jeremy Cheng
4 min readDec 27, 2018

Disclaimer: the opinions and views covered in this post are strictly my personal views and does not reflect the official opinions or views of MakerBot, Dragon Ventures (DV), or any of DV’s subsidiaries.

As Dragon Ventures (DV) has a significantly vested interest in a Hong Kong based technical operations consultancy that’s an official reseller for Makerbot, about a month before the Method product launch, I got a call from their APAC HQ for a “secret partners meeting” in Shanghai. Now, most of you who know me personally know that even with DV’s vested interest, I have never been one to shy away from “telling it how it is” when it comes to sharing my views about the MakerBot product line. So to be completely honest, based on the strides they have made since the Replicator 2 up until the Replicator +, I flew to Shanghai with not a whole lot of expectations.

But boy, was I wrong! My expectations were completely invalidated when I found myself looking at the Method face-to-face. The unit I looked at was just a DVT2 sample (this is essentially 2 milestones away from the actual mass production unit for those of you not familiar with manufacturing) and even at that stage, I saw a sexy looking and solidly built masterpiece that produced quality prints time after time…

--

--