Running Brave Browser in Docker

for testing, questionable sites, or by-passing network configs

Jeremy Cheng
4 min readFeb 5, 2022

In the past 2 years, I have been developing a VPN/SDP alternative on the side called Syndr that involves complex firewall and network configs that is constantly running on my laptop but once in a while, I find myself needing to check something via a raw connection to the Internet or even cross check between raw connections and Syndr connections which was tedious to turn off and on Syndr just for that purpose. So what I ended up doing was firing up a raw connection bridged VM quickly but needless to say, it’s not really an ideal solution as a full VM is always taking up more resources on my system than I would like.

Aside from something more complex like the above, I often find myself wanting to test a client’s website quickly between staging and production which requires different network configurations.

Last but not least, there are times when I do need to check/vet questionable websites for clients which I would run a FreeBSD VM for it; again, as fast to boot and light weight as FreeBSD is, it’s still more resources than I would like to run for just checking a website. Also, what would happen if it does in the off chance do something to my VM even though FreeBSD is not really a target for script kiddies? Well, I would have to keep…

--

--