Geary v0.13.1

Questionably the Best E-Mail Client for Linux?

Jeremy Cheng
5 min readFeb 23, 2019

What do you use for e-mail in your favorite distro of Linux? Are you a web GMail type of guy or a terminal/alpine/mutt type of gal? What about the super minimalistic circa 1995 Claws, the slightly better looking Thunderbird, the resource hungry MailSpring with fancy cloud based functionality, or the full featured yet super old school Evolution? Maybe even Zimbra? Let’s face it… Linux has historically fallen short on a well balanced client-side e-mail solution unless you are all about keyboard short-cuts and learning curves of a text based e-mail client. Don’t get me wrong, I personally had my long and happy affair with Alpine back in the days but I have since grown out of pure technical roles and can be a sucker for visually pleasing presentation most of the time. With that said, my requirements for e-mail have overtime evolved as such:

  • Must be lightweight (reasonably low CPU and RAM usage) as I have it opened all the time.
  • Modern and visually pleasing and matches the rest of my desktop theme by default (I use Gnome 3)
  • HTML loading controls
  • WYSIWYG input of HTML signatures
  • Handles 5 or more e-mail accounts gracefully
  • Integrates well with GSuite and Office365

--

--